India retains Category 1 under FAA’s International Aviation Safety Assessment, ET TravelWorld

<p>Picture used for representational purposes only.</p>
Picture used for representational purposes only.

In a recent communication to the Directorate General of Civil Aviation (DGCA), USA’s Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) has informed that India’s International Aviation Safety Assessment (IASA) category will continue to be published as Category 1.

Based on the positive outcomes of the assessment and follow-ups, the FAA informed DGCA on April 12, 2023 that India meets the international standards for aviation safety oversight of the Chicago Convention and its Annexes and continues to retain FAA IASA Category 1 status which was the last assessed in July 2018.

The FAA has also appreciated the DGCA stating that it has demonstrated a commitment to ensuring the effective safety oversight of India’s aviation system.

Further, it also stated that the air carriers of Category 1 countries are permitted to operate/ expand their services to destinations in the USA and codeshare with US air carriers.

US FAA presses aviation industry to eliminate ‘close calls’

Six serious runway incursions since January prompted the agency to convene a safety summit earlier this month. The FAA said last week that it was taking steps to improve its air traffic control operations.

According to the Civil Aviation Ministry’s official statement, India’s Category 1 determination has come at a time when Indian aviation is on a high growth trajectory and air carriers in India have major capacity induction and expansion plans.India, in the recent ICAO audit in November 2022 has scored an Effective Implementation (EI) of 85.65 per cent from the previous EI of 69.95 percent thereby enhancing its global ranking significantly.

The FAA’s International Aviation Safety Assessment (IASA) programme conducted an audit of India’s DGCA from October 25 to 29, 2021, covering areas such as aircraft operations, airworthiness, and personnel licensing. Final consultations were conducted in April 2022, with further review by the FAA in July and September of the same year.

The IASA programme assesses a country’s oversight of its air carriers operating or seeking to operate in the US or code sharing with US air carriers, to ensure compliance with safety standards established by the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO).

“The assessment by ICAO as well as FAA is a testimony to India’s commitment to having an effective safety oversight for its civil aviation system,” the ministry said.

  • Published On Apr 15, 2023 at 09:02 AM IST

Join the community of 2M+ industry professionals

Subscribe to our newsletter to get latest insights & analysis.

Download ETTravelWorld App

  • Get Realtime updates
  • Save your favourite articles

Scan to download App

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *